Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

WACS holds 2016 Honor Night Awards; $35,000 awarded

June 30, 2016
Westfield Republican

Westfield Academy and Central School held its Honors Night Awards 2016 prior to graduation, and has announced the honors winners.

Jennie Lisa Vandevelde Memorial Scholarship-Madison Dahl; Westfield Firemen's Award-Byron Peterson, Alexander Smith and Nicholas Chasse; Wallace-Holbrook Scholarship-Jonathan Wilson; American Legion Post 327 Initiative and Awareness Award-Meghan Bodenmiller; Post 327 Auxiliary Award-Gillian Belcher, Brooke Bennett; American Legion Citizenship Award-Gregory Schroeder; Michael A Pagano Scholarship-Dylan Strain; Reach Beyond Award-Cameron Abbey-Mott; Steve and Helen Baran Scholarship-Taylor Kassman; Wayne Anthony Award-Joshua McCord; Aaron Diamond Memorial Achievement Award-Madison Dahl; Yvonne Wagner Twombly Memorial Award-Jason Babcock; Daniel G. Hyde Memorial Scholarship-Trevor North; Joanna Seminatore Memorial Scholarship-Jonathan Wilson; Raymond T. Ryan Scholarship Award-Brooke Bennett; Allene Herron Tompkins Memorial Scholarship-Meghan Bodenmiller; Joseph Baideme Memorial Award-Judah Herr; Wells H. Hull Scholarship-Judah Herr; Lisa Hauser Memorial Award-Laura Tofil; Max Naeser Memorial Award-Brooke Bennett; Dekalb Agriculture Award-Dylan Strain; Herbert Stratton Memorial Award-Madison Dahl and Judah Herr; Rammelt Family Memorial Award-Judah Herr; Walter Baran Memorial Award-Madison Dahl; Bristol-Burgess Award-Tayler Irwin; H. Harold Meyer Award-Donald Amborski; Joseph Koshute Memorial Scholarship-Elizabeth Gollnitz; Dr. Anthony Calarco Award-Elizabeth Gollnitz; Fair Point Communications Award-Claire Tilley; Arts and Crafts Festival Scholarship-Hailey Tredo; Blythe Nundy Memorial Award-Brooke Bennett and Madison Gross; Vocational Education Award-Judah Herr; Holly Raines Memorial Scholastic Achievement-Meghan Bodenmiller; Hugh W. Thompson Salutatorian Award-Meghan Bodenmiller; Frances J. Bannister Valedictorian Scholarship-Jonathan Wilson; WACS Valedictorian Award-Jonathan Wilson; Julie Mead Memorial Scholarship-Ashley Burgess. Richard Mead Memorial Scholarship-Meghan Bodenmiller; Alice Miller Beckman Nursing and Public Health Award-Brooke Bennett; Lt. Colonel David R. Correll Industrial Arts and Citizenship Award-Sara Campbell; Arthur J. Macer Award-Christopher Harriger; Ruth Barker Winch Scholarship-Ashley Burgess; Doug Greenleaf Memorial Scholarship-Gillian Belcher; Steve G. Brown Memorial Scholarship-Christopher Harriger; Jacqueline Habig Memorial Award-Brooke Bennett; Laureate Alpha Phi Award-Ashley Burgess; Monday Night Girls Award-Meghan Bodenmiller; Moose Lodge 118 Memorial Award-Jason Babcock; Roderick A. and Priscilla B. Nixon Educational Fund-Claire Tilley; Arion Vocal Music Award-Joshua McCord; Directors Drama Award-Trevor North; Westwinds Award-Trevor North; Music Boosters Vocal Award-Julia Quagliana; Hage Music Award-Joshua McCord; Ape-Men Senior Award-Jason Babcock; Firecrackers Award-Meghan Bodenmiller; Fine Arts and Musical Comedy Award-Jason Babcock; Sue Hunt Memorial Award-Madison Gross; William C. Ross Award-Kailyn Gatto; Joseph and Jenette Schuster Music Scholarship-Bethany Schaaf; Peter Tempio Music Award-Madison Gross;

Patrick S. Gilmore Band Award-Jason Babcock; Deutschmeister Award-Daniel McMurray; John Philip Sousa Band Award-Joshua McCord; Arion Band Award-Cameron Abbey-Mott; Band Senior Service Award-Madison Gross; SGT Kevin Wilson White Scholarship-Taylor Kassman; Summit Lodge 110 of Free & Accepted Masons Masonic Beacon Award-Judah Herr; William P. Jackway Award-Madison Gross; Paul H. and Frances A. Wolfe Memorial Award-Amy Meleen; Allstar Award in memory of Alastair Nixon-Laura Tofil and Joseph Quagliana; Kristie Ward Memorial Scholarships-Claire Tilley and Taylor Kassman; Ralph Bristol Athletic Award-Jonathan Wilson; Bret Smith Leadership Award-Trevor North; Westfield Area Jayncees Athletic Award-Laura Tofil; Junior Chamber of Commerce Athletic Award-Jonathan Wilson; Hop Palermo Athletic Award-Tayler Irwin; Mike Samonia Memorial Athletic Award-Bryce Gatto; Athletic Director's Award-Joseph Quagliana; Team Player of the Year Award-Cameron Abbey-Mott; WACS Coaches Award-Joseph Quagliana; Jerry Horton Memorial Award-Meghan Bodenmiller; Oustanding Girl in Physical Education Award-Cameron Abbey-Mott; Outstanding Boy in Physical Education Award-Trevor North; Maude Kelly Memorial Award-Brenna Culbreth; Daryl J. Brown Memorial Award-Joseph Quagliana; Keith D. Bestine Memorial Award-Gregory Schroeder; Woody Keyser Memorial Scholarship-Jonathan Wilson; Carlton 'Bud' Beadle Scholar Athlete Award-Ashley Burgess; Outstanding Wrestler Award-Jake Seaburg; Pattison Dickson Alumni Science Award-Meghan Bodenmiller.

Article Photos

Photo by Roger Coda
Sharing a laugh before marching out onto the Westfield football field, from left: Melinda Monroe, Sara Campbell and Keely Guest.

Marion B. Jillson and Elizabeth R. Jillson Fund-1st Place English: Jonathan Wilson; 2nd Place English: Meghan Bodenmiller; 1st Place Science: Jonathan Wilson; 2nd Place Science: Meghan Bodenmiller; VFW Post 6764 Auxiliary American History Award-Cameron Abbey-Mott; Yearbook Editor Award-Meghan Bodenmiller; Yearbook Excellence Award-Meghan Bodenmiller and Nelson Warren; Yearbook Photo Manager Award-Nelson Warren; Women of the Moose 517 Scholarship-Julia Quagliana; Lodge 1555 International Association of Aerospace Workers Award-Highest Average: Judah Herr; Highest Project: Keely Guest; Principal's Award-Brandon DeJohn; New York State Triple C Award-Keely Guest and Channing Bausum; Robert D. North Sr. Memorial Award-Trevor North; Major Rodney W. McLean Scholarship-Bryce Gatto; Westfield Teachers Association Scholarship-Gillian Belcher; Rotary Award-Gillian Belcher and Jason Babcock; Outstanding Senior Award-Claire Tilley; Westfield Parent Connection Local Scholarship-Meghan Bodenmiller; Frank J. Alonge Sr. Memorial Award-Tayler Irwin; President's Award for Education Excellence-Cameron Abbey-Mott, Gillian Belcher, Meghan Bodenmiller, Joseph Quagliana, Gregory Schroeder, Claire Tilley and Jonathan Wilson; Community All-Star Business First Award-Daniel McMurray; Friends of the Grand Theatre Award-Brooke Bennett; Comptroller's Award-Megan Emory and Daniel Ackendorf; Timothy B. Calarco Art Award Mary, Joseph, and David Baideme Award- Dylan Strain; "A Life That Matters" Award in memory of Frank Riscili-Trevor North; Mary Ellen Benamati Memorial Award-Laura Tofil and Trevor North; Jennifer R. Miller Award-Laura Tofil; State Ed. Dept. Academic Excellence Award-Cameron Abbey-Mott and Jonathan Wilson; JBC Senior Academic Progress Award-Sara Campbell; JCC KJC Scholarship-Taylor Kassman; JCC College Connections Senior Student of the Year-Meghan Bodenmiller; Code Officials Memorial Scholarship-Joseph Quagliana; Fessenden, Laumer & DeAngelo Athletic Club Award-Judah Herr; Senior Class Advisors' Award-Brenna Culbreth and Daniel McMurray; Class of 2016 Scholarship-Daniel Ackendorf, Ashley Burgess and Taylor Kassman; St. James Father McGuire Award-Julia Quagliana.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web