Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

County Honor Society students get together for new awards banquet

May 5, 2016
Westfield Republican

For the first time ever, high school students from around Chautauqua County who are members of their schools' National Honor Society chapters got together for an evening of networking, learning and awards on April 18. Supported by the Far West Council of School Superintendents, the Chautauqua County Honor Societies Banquet was coordinated by a team led by Clymer Central School teacher Carrie Shampoe.

One hundred forty students from 11 high schools were brought together at the Chautauqua Suites Meeting & Expo Center in Mayville, where they honed their networking skills and got to know one another in a formal setting.

Keynote speaker for the evening was Dr. Terry Brown, provost and vice president of academic affairs at SUNY Fredonia, who spoke on "Cum Laude: Living With Honor." Master of ceremonies for the evening was Dennis Webster, host of the WJTN academic championship program High School Bowl. The students also heard a presentation on the importance of STEM careers from Justin Hanft, coordinator of Dream It Do It in Chautauqua County.

Article Photos

Submitted photo
From left (front row) are Susan Klein, winner of the Leonard Bus Sales scholarship; Abigail Whipple of Chautauqua Lake Central School, winner of the Robert J. Klein Memorial Award sponsored by SmartEdge; Bridget Yaw of Sherman Central School, winner of the Cummins scholarship; Olivia Markham of Forestville Central School and Kirstie Surrena of Cummins Jamestown Engine Plant. Back row: Dave Rindo of Leonard Bus Sales; Andy Klein; Scott Derby of SmartEdge; Adam Young of Cummins Jamestown Engine Plant; organizer Carrie Shampoe of Clymer Central School; and keynote speaker Dr. Terry Brown of SUNY Fredonia.

Distinguished Service Awards of $100 were presented to one student from each participating honor society, chosen by the school advisor and based on the student's selfless dedication to improving school and/or community. Students receiving the awards were: Jordyn Guziec, Cassadaga Valley Central School; Jenna Wiemer, Chautauqua Lake Central School; Kimberly Emory, Clymer Central School; Benjamin Tarnowski, Dunkirk High School; Olivia Markham, Forestville Central School; Abigail Todaro, Jamestown High School; Chiara Young, Panama Central School; Shanece Jones, Pine Valley High School; Kaitlyn TenPas, Sherman Central School; Emma Sample, Southwestern Central School; and Daniel McMurray, Westfield Central School.

In addition, three scholarships of $1,000 each were presented by sponsoring local businesses. The Cummins Inc. Award was designated for a student planning to pursue a degree in a STEM field and demonstrating a commitment to improving their community, and was presented to Forestville's Olivia Markham. Leonard Bus Sales presented an award to a high school senior who is a member in good standing of his or her school's Honor Society. The award went to Abigail Whipple of Chautauqua Lake. The Robert J. Klein Memorial Award, sponsored by SmartEdge, was given to a student planning to pursue a degree in the sciences with a focus on engineering or sustainable energy solutions, who demonstrates leadership and is active in his or her school and community; it was presented to Bridget Yaw of Sherman.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web