Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Area village results announced

March 20, 2014
Westfield Republican / Mayville Sentinel News

Residents who live in select villages in New York state once again hit the polls Tuesday.

Polls were open from noon to 9 p.m. at most polling sites as mayors and trustees were decided upon. All results are unofficial and have yet to be certified with a Board of Elections.


In the village of Brocton, Republican Bryan C. Woleben won the election for a trustee seat. He received 86 votes while Sheila Lawrence, who ran on the Democratic ticket received 45 votes.


There were three candidates running for two trustee seats. Democratic Tim Jacobson won one trustee seat with 115 votes. Richard Syper, who was endorsed by both the Democratic and Republican parties, won the other seat with 111 votes. Republican James Mayer received 92 votes. There were also two write-in votes.

Martin Bova, who was endorsed by both the Republican and Democratic parties, ran for mayor uncontested. He received 154 votes. There were also five write-in votes for mayor.


There were three trustee candidates running for two open seats. Michael Catalano, who ran on the Democratic line, and David Brooker, who ran on the Republican line, won. Catalano received 239 votes and Brooker received 218 votes. Rick Raynor, who ran on the Republican line, received 211 votes. There was one write-in vote for trustee.

There were also village elections held Tuesday in Sherman, Panama and Bemus Point. Celoron, Falconer, Fredonia, Lakewood and Silver Creek have moved their elections to coincide with the November general elections. Cassadaga did not have any offices up for election in 2014. The Chautauqua County Board of Elections oversaw all elections except for Sinclairville, which oversaw its own elections.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web