Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Bringing home the hardware

Area athletes honored at WNY high school football banquet

December 26, 2013
Westfield Republican / Mayville Sentinel News

The 28th annual Western New York High School Football awards banquet was held Saturday at the Classics Banquet and Conference Center.

Players from the western Southern Tier came home with plenty of hardware.

Following are the recipients and the awards they received:

Tom Langworthy, Jamestown, Joe Foyle Award (Large School Coach of the Year)

Brent Brown, Randolph, Gene Masters Award (Small School Coach of the Year)

Jake Sisson, Jamestown, Ron Jaworski Award (WNY outstanding quarterback)

Stephen Carlson and Zack Panebianco, Jamestown, James Lofton Award (WNY outstanding receivers)

Lucas Brown, Randolph, Andy Benson Award

Section 6 Playoff MVPs

Chuck Funke Award

Offensive Players of the Game

Class AA: Zack Panebianco and Jake Sisson, Jamestown

Class C: Matt McCarthy, Fredonia

Class D: Chris Doubek, Randolph

Class DD: Jordan Ingerson, Frewsburg

Chuck Funke Award

Defensive Players of the Game

Class AA: Michael Parker, Jamestown

Class C: Dakota Gardner, Fredonia

Class D: Nick Hettenbaugh, Randolph; and Mitchell Sandberg, MG/Chautauqua Lake

Class DD: Justin Forster, Cattaraugus-Little Valley; and Zach Haller, Frewsburg

WGRZ Offensive Players of the Year

Section 6

Class AA: Stephen Carlson and Jake Sisson, Jamestown

Class C South: Cody Dustin, Falconer; Weston Ley and Matt McCarthy, Fredonia

Class D: Chris Doubek and Mitch Maycock, Randolph; and Ryan Miller, MG/CL

WGRZ Defensive Players of the Year

Section 6

Class AA: Zack Panebianco, Jamestown

Class C South: Jake Rinus and Cody Smith, Fredonia

Class D: Lucas Brown, Nick Hettenbaugh and Cody Oldro, Randolph; and Jonah Tanner, MG/CL

Class DD: Chris Greiner, Sherman; and Jacob Short, Panama

The Buffalo News

All-WNY Team

Jake Sisson, Jamestown, quarterback; Chris Doubek, Randolph, running back; Stephen Carlson, Jamestown, wide receiver; Joe Mistretta, Jamestown, offensive line; Cody Oldro, Randolph, offensive line; and Zack Panebianco, Jamestown, defensive back.

Player of the Year

Jake Sisson, Jamestown

Poll Champions

Jamestown, Large Schools

Randolph, Small Schools

Buffalo Bills High School

Coach of the Year

Brent Brown, Randolph

Jim Kelly Underclassmen of the Year

Matt McCarthy, Fredonia, offense

Cross Training Football Award

Southern Tier: Erik Tingue, Jamestown

WNY High School Football

All-Academic Team

Chris Doubek, Randolph; Trevor Gleason, Sherman; Kyle Moran, Southwestern; Jake Sisson, Jamestown



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web