Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS


GOP gets county executive, clerk, supermajority of legislature

November 6, 2013
Westfield Republican / Mayville Sentinel News


OBSERVER Mayville Bureau

The supermajority of the Chautauqua County Legislature will be Republican as of Jan. 1, while four Democrat incumbents are on their way out.

In the new legislature, 13 of 19 legislators are Republican.

"We gained a couple of seats which is very important," said Allan Hendrickson, chairman of the Chautauqua County Republican Committee.

"We'll be able to do things we weren't able to do before," Hendrickson said, referring to the economy of the county and "expansion of what we have."

"We do what we can for the people we have here," he said.

Furthermore, the outcome of the election could significantly affect the future of the Chautauqua County Home and the possibility of it being sold to a private buyer.

"In my opinion, the election was a referendum on the county home," state Assemblyman Andy Goodell said. He explained that with the privatization of the skilled nursing facility, money could be used to keep future taxes down.

"The public overwhelmingly said they wanted a smaller government, lower taxes and more jobs," Goodell said.

With the supermajority of the new legislature Republican, it appears the home could certainly be sold.

Democrats Robert Whitney, Thomas DeJoe, William Coughlin and Thomas Erlandson lost in Tuesday's elections.

Bob Scudder, R-Fredonia, beat Coughlin, D-Fredonia in District 3, 966 to 709.

Terry Niebel R-Sheridan beat Susan Baldwin, D-South Dayton, and Amy Farnham, Working Families, in District 5, earning 925, or 60 percent, of the votes, compared with Baldwin's 529 and Farnham's 98.

Whitney, D-Jamestown, lost to David Wilfong R-Jamestown, 533 to 444 in the District 11 race.

Frederick Larson, D-Jamestown, won the District 12 race, defeating William Prieto R-Jamestown, 647 to 450.

Ronald Lemon, R-Frewsburg, defeated Erlandson D-Frewsburg, 1,077 to 641.

P.J. Wendel R-Lakewood, won the District 10 seat 996 to 663 over Sharon Lisciandro D-Lakewood.

David Himelein R-Findley Lake won re-election, defeating challenger Edward Carutis D-Sherman, 882 votes to 561. He will represent the new District 18 in the legislature.

Lisa Vanstrom, R-Ellicott, defeated Sam Ognibene, 1,020 votes to 485, though Ognibene suspended his candidacy in mid-October.

In District 7, John Runkle R-Stockton, defeated DeJoe 850-624.

In District 4, Janet Keefe D-Fredonia, won, defeating Michael Sullivan R-Fredonia by a margin of 450 to 338.

Legislators running unopposed were Keith Ahlstrom, D-Dunkirk; Shaun Heenan, D-Dunkirk; George Borrello, R-Silver Creek; Pierre Chagnon, R-Bemus Point; Charles Nazzaro, D-Jamestown; Mark Tarbrake, R-Lakewood; Jay Gould, R-Ashville; Paula DeJoy, D, I-Jamestown, and John Hemmer, R-Westfield.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web