Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Workers’ Memorial Committee holding 13th annual Workers’ Memorial Day

May 8, 2013
Westfield Republican / Mayville Sentinel News

FREWSBURG - The Chautauqua County Workers' Memorial Committee will be holding a Workers' Memorial Day on Saturday, May 4 at 11 a.m. at the Chautauqua County Workers' Memorial Site at Erlandson Overview Park on Oak Hill Rd., Frewsburg.

Workers' Memorial Day has been observed in Chautauqua County by the Workers' Memorial Committee for the last 13 years and it is a day of remembering all of the men and women from Chautauqua County who have been injured or killed on the job.

The event is open to the public and refreshments will be served. Scheduled speakers include Director of Western New York Labor and Environmental Programs at Cornell University- ILR School Arthur C. Wheaton, State Senator Catharine Young, State Assemblyman Andrew Goodell and Jacqueline Chiarot, a representative from Congressman Tom Reed's Office.

The Chautauqua County Workers' Memorial Site is made possible by the cooperation of Chautauqua County Government, the Chautauqua County Parks Commission, local labor organizations and by donations from supporters.

"I encourage residents to join us on May 4 as we remember our fellow workers and loved ones who have lost their lives while working," Chautauqua County Executive Greg Edwards said.

Members of the Chautauqua County Workers' Memorial Committee are Co-Chairman Greg Edwards, County Executive; Co-Chairman Jack Rudy, President of the Jamestown Central Labor Council; Co-Chairman Doug Stock, President of Dunkirk Central Labor Council; Secretary and Treasurer Robert Dando Jr., National Conference of Firemen and Oilers SEIU 32BJ; Paul Fardink, Friend of Labor Management; Andrea Figueroa, Vice President of New York State United Teachers- Jamestown Teachers Association; James Kurtz, Civil Service Employees Association(CSEA) Local No. 903/3; Dave Painter, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local No. 106; Mike Piazza, United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of America Local No. 338; William Pienta, Director of United Steelworkers District No. 4; William Servis, Pipefitter and Sprinkler Local No. 699; Steve Skidmore, CSEA Local No. 807/6300; George Spitale, American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees Local No. 418; James Smith, CSEA Local No. 903/3; and Dave Wilkinson, IBEW Local No. 106.

For more information contact Bob Dando at 672-2939 or



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web