Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

No tax rate increase for Mayville

May 1, 2013
By DAVE O’CONNOR - CORRESPONDENT ( , Westfield Republican / Mayville Sentinel News

MAYVILLE - No tax rate increase will accompany a larger 2013-14 village budget, nor are increased rates likely in the following fiscal year due to a healthy village reserve fund, according to Village of Mayville Mayor Marty Bova.

A $1,427,215 budget received unanimous village board approval on Tuesday, April 9 following a public hearing where no comment was made. Property will continue to be taxed at a rate of $7.20 per thousand, the same as with the $1,223,894 budget for 2012-13.

Questioned after the village board session, Mayor Bova said all of the slightly more than $200,000 increase will be paid from the village's reserve fund so no additional property taxes were necessary. Bova is confident the reserve fund will continue to be large enough to prevent a rate increase in the 2014-15 fiscal year.

One increase that will take effect June 1 is a $0.50 hike for village trash bags. Five large bags will cost $7 while five smaller bags will be $5.

Another approved resolution shows an additional source of funds for the village. The municipal electric department pays $100,729 to the village's general fund "for management of administrative service." The sum is paid on a pro-rata basis each month, according to the resolution.

In other business, the board authorized bids be sought to provide a single-axle, 26,000-pound gross vehicle weight dump truck for the public works department.

Micheal J. Bolender was named village attorney, with the firm of Clark and Whipple LLP to be called upon if Bolender is not available or faces a conflict of interest.

Lakeside Park's beach will be open from Monday, June 17 through Sunday, Aug. 18 from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., with bathing available only when a lifeguard is on duty. The park will be open until 11 p.m. There is no charge for admission to the park or use of the pavilion, but use of the pavilion for parties, reunions and other group gatherings requires a reservation made at the village clerk's office.

Much of the board's agenda was in the nature of routine annual housekeeping. Included was the naming of board members to various committees as well as appointment and reappointment of village residents to various boards and individual positions.

Mayor Bova made the following committee appointments, which were all unanimously approved: fire department, Trustee Jacobson and Mayor Bova; water, Trustees Smead and Jacobson; electric, Trustee Flurie and Mayor Bova; highways, Trustee Jacobson and Mayor Bova; personnel, Trustees Jacobson and Smead; payroll, Trustees Smead and Mayer; parks, Trustees Flurie and Mayer; youth and recreation, Trustees Flurie and Mayer; and special events, Trustees Jacobson and Smead.

Judy Haskin was unanimously appointed to the Youth Recreation Commission with a term running till May 31, 2016.

Kenneth Speilman was named to the Zoning Board of Appeals and James Webb to the Planning Board, both terms till May 31, 2018.

Richard Syper was named Mayville's representative to the Waterfront Revitalization Committee.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web