Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Westfield Senior Citizens 11/08/12

December 19, 2012
Westfield Republican / Mayville Sentinel News

WESTFIELD - The Westfield Senior Citizens met Thursday, Nov. 8 at the YWCA at noon with 32 members enjoying a delicious pot-luck dinner.

The speaker was Tom Schmidt of the Western New York Education Service Council. The possible merger of Westfield and Brocton schools was the topic. He had a series of questions he asked the seniors to determine the aspects of which were important to them. Also he gave facts and statistics supporting the need for this merger.

The meeting was called to order by President Shirley Kolpien. Chaplain Joyce Wainwright read as devotions "November Morning." New member Lorraine Brasda was welcomed. The 50/50 was won by Amy Gregory and the door prize by Wally Haley.

November birthdays were celebrated by Dolores Kaufman, Wally Haley, John Osterhoudt, Pauline Winslow and Nick Alonge. A get-well card was sent to Mamie Criscione. Nancy and Richard Sanick had an anniversary.

The Westfield Recreation Department sent a letter announcing a trip on Tuesday, Dec. 11 to Cleveland to visit the James A. Garfield House and the Christmas display and GE's Nela park. Dinner is not included and will take place at the Cracker Barrel. The cost is $38 per person. Call 326-4243 for more information or to make a reservation.

The nominating committee presented the slate of officers for the new year: Shirley Kolpien, President; Geri Harper, Vice President; Sylvia Colbey, Secretary; and Dolores Kaufman, Treasurer. These were unanimously accepted.

The Thursday, Dec. 13 meeting will be a pot-luck held at noon at the YWCA. Members should bring a dish to pass and their own table service. Installation of officers will take place as well as a gift-exchange among members. Each person should bring a $5 wrapped gift. The men should label their gifts "men," and the women should label theirs "woman."

The kitchen committee is Gladys Hess, Trudy Stafford, Erma Lloyd, Ann Cochran and Darla Auger. Only the committee should bring desserts. New members are always welcome.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web