Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

CSHOF announces Class of 2013 inductees

December 12, 2012
Westfield Republican / Mayville Sentinel News

JAMESTOWN - The Board of Directors of the Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame is proud to announce the six inductees who will comprise the Class of 2013.

They are Ron Blackmer, Cal Cederquist, Jim Foti, Dan Palmer, Walt Thurnau and Jim Young. The six new honorees will bring the total number of CSHOF inductees to 145.

These individuals will be formally inducted at the CSHOF's 32nd annual banquet, Monday, Feb. 18, 2013, at the Lakewood Rod and Gun Club. Tickets for the induction dinner are priced at $50. Reservations for the 2013 banquet can be made by calling chairman Chip Johnson at 485-6991.

Article Photos

Submitted photo
Cal Cederquist

Following are brief biographies of the local new inductees.

Cal Cederquist

Cederquist is a 1967 graduate of Southwestern, where he was a two-time CCIAC long jump champion.

He coached track and cross country for 27 years 1972 to 1981 and 1990 to 2008.

His career began in 1972 began at Chautauqua, a school without a track and hadn't won a dual meet in 40 years. He developed teams that regularly competed for and won league titles and also had trained many sectional and state qualifiers.

After a nine-year hiatus, Cederquist got back into coaching to organize a combined boys and girls track program at Chautauqua and won five league titles. His boys 1,600-meter relay team won a state title in the final athletic contest held in history of Chautauqua Central School.

Cederquist continued coaching after the merger of Chautauqua and Mayville that formed Chautauqua Lake Central School and had several state finalists and a state champion.

Dan Palmer

Palmer was born in Dunkirk in 1948 and has lived in Chautauqua County his entire life.

Palmer has been a broadcaster and sports director at WDOE radio for 37 years and has called play-by-play of more than 2,000 youth, high school and college sports games.

Palmer established a variety of awards at WDOE to recognize those involved in sports: WDOE Player of the Game, WDOE High School Athlete of the Day, WDOE High School Player of the Week, WDOE Leadership Award and the WDOE Community Sports Service Award.

Palmer emceed the 2009 CSHOF induction dinner when Fredonia's Michael Heary and Jenn Stuczynski were inducted.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web