Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Literary prize presented to author

September 19, 2012
Westfield Republican / Mayville Sentinel News

CHAUTAUQUA - The first-ever Chautauqua Prize was presented to author Andrew Krivak for his book, "The Sojourn" on Sunday, Aug. 5 at Chautauqua Institution.

The Chautauqua Prize is a new national prize that celebrates a book of fiction or literary/narrative nonfiction that provides a richly rewarding reading experience and honors the author for a significant contribution to the literary arts.

Sixty-five books were nominated for The Chautauqua Prize this year. Three reviewers read each nominated book and two of the three had to approve the book to have it considered for the winner. The approved potential winners were then read by a panel of three anonymous judges, who selected the winner.

Article Photos

Submitted photo
The first-ever Chautauqua Prize was presented to author, Andrew Krivak for his book, “The Sojourn” on Sunday, Aug. 5, at Chautauqua Institution.

The winning book follows Jozef Vinich, transitioning after a family tragedy from Colorado to Austria-Hungary during World War I. Krivak considers it to be an amalgam of stories he had heard as a boy about his grandparents growing up in the old country.

For more information about The Chautauqua Prize, including submission guidelines for 2013, visit

With a history steeped in the literary arts, Chautauqua Institution is the home of the Chautauqua Literary and Scientific Circle, founded in 1878 and believed to be the oldest continuous book club in the country.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web