Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Battery recycling implemented in Chautauqua County office buildings

July 4, 2012
Westfield Republican / Mayville Sentinel News

MAYVILLE - Chautauqua County Executive Greg Edwards announced recently Chautauqua County Government is taking one more step to go green as County Office Buildings will now have recycling containers for rechargeable and non-rechargeable batteries available to its employees.

"Our buildings already offer recycling for soda cans and bottles, paper, and ink cartridges and this new recycling initiative is just one more way we can help the environment," said Edwards. Each year about three billion batteries are sold in the United States and each year the average person throws out about eight household batteries.

Batteries contain heavy metals such as mercury, lead, cadmium, and nickel and when batteries are improperly disposed of they can contaminate the environment. Batteries may produce potential problems or hazards such as polluting the lakes and steams as the metal vaporizes into the air when burned, contribute to heavy metals that potentially may leach from solid waste landfills, expose the environment and water to lead and acid, contain strong corrosive acids, and may cause burns or danger to eyes and skin.

Article Photos

Submitted photo
Department of Public Facilities Director George Spanos, left, and Chautauqua County Executive Greg Edwards, right, launch a battery recycling program in County Office Buildings.

"By 1997 certain mercury-containing batteries were phased out of use to protect the environment and by properly disposing of batteries we can continue to reduce heavy metals in our landfills," said Department of Public Facilities Director George Spanos.

"Although rechargeable batteries can only be recycled by our County departments, residents can also do their part to help our environment by properly disposing of batteries," said Edwards. "Our Department of Public Facilities Division of Solid Waste has been working hard to provide recycling opportunities for our residents and it is important that residents are aware of where they can go to properly dispose of batteries."

Non-rechargeable household batteries can be recycled, free of charge, at the electronic waste areas at the County's three transfer stations. Batteries for vehicles, tractors, boats, or lawn mowers are not accepted at any of the County's Transfer Stations and instead must be recycled at retail stores where they are sold. Rechargeable Nickel Cadmium (NiCad), camera, cell phone and power tool batteries are also not accepted at the transfer stations. These items can be recycled at Walmart's electronic department and area Radio Shack stores. Residents can also call 1-800-8-BATTERY to find other rechargeable battery drop-off locations.

The Chautauqua County Transfer Stations are open to residents at the following days and times:

South County Transfer Station

2570 South Work Street

Falconer, NY 14733

Open Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.

North County Transfer Station

3688 Webster Road

Fredonia, NY 14063

Open Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.

West County Transfer Station

121 Osborn Street

Sherman, NY 14781

Open Tuesday and Saturday from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.

For more information, call 985-4785 or visit



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web