Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Local athletes make first, second All Star teams in basketball, wrestling

March 28, 2012
Westfield Republican

Division 3 girls' basketball

Janae Hamilton of Ellicottville was selected the most valuable player for Division 3 girls basketball for the 2011-12 season. Hamilton's coach, Tim Bergan, was named the coach of the year.

The Chautauqua Lake Thunderbirds received the team sportsmanship award. Molly Beaton received the individual sportsmanship award for Maple Grove.

Other sportsmanship award winners included Courtney Hewes for Chautauqua Lake and Lynn Wood for Westfield.

First team

Janae HamiltonEllicottville

Molly BeatonMaple Grove

Carlye SwansonPine Valley

Jenna EininkChautauqua Lake

Madison SzpachierEllicottville

Kyleen HamiltonPine Valley

Second team

Jen PrechtlMaple Grove

Jill EininkChautauqua Lake

Courtney HewesChautauqua Lake

Lauren NickersonMaple Grove

Alisha SzumigalaForestville

Honorable mention

Chautauqua Lake: Ashton Albanesius, Tara Hunt.

Westfield: Nina Manzella, Chelsea Poletto.

Division 4 girls' basketball

Junior Elle Reed of Sherman was named the most valuable player and also the sportsmanship award winner for Division 4 girls basketball.

Reed averaged 24 points per game in the regular-season in reaching the 1,000-point plateau.

Scott Neckers, in his first varsity season at Clymer, was selected coach of the year and Panama received the team sportsmanship award.

Clymer, which was the champion with a 12-0 record and has lost only once all season, placed juniors Dani Reinwald and Jo-Linda Rhodes along with senior Lauren Eggleston on the first team.

Reinwald averages 20 points and15 rebounds per game.

Freshman Brittany Lenart and senior Andrea Marsh plus senior Amy Sands of Sherman round out the seven-member first team.

Besides Reed, other sportsmanship award winners were Marsh of Panama, Keely Treacle of Clymer, Amy DeLand of Brocton and Samantha Judd of Ripley.

First team

Elle ReedShermanJr.

Dani ReinwaldClymerJr.

Lauren EgglestonClymerSr.

Jo-Linda RhodesClymerJr.

Brittany LenartPanamaFr.

Andrea MarshPanamaSr.

Amy SandsShermanSr.

Second team

Chelsea DashnawWest ValleySr.

Megan HewlettWest ValleySr.

Megan BaileyWest ValleyJr.

Bridget YawSherman8th

Kaeli EininkClymerSr.

Honorable mention

Brocton: Jessica Putcher (Soph.).

Panama: Carly Abbate (Soph.), Kirsten Green (Jr.), Kaylee Sheldon (Sr.).

Ripley: Samantha Judd (Jr.), Emily Trevelline (Sr.).

Sherman: Nicole Damcott (Sr.), Danielle Reed (Jr.), Alyssa Roache (Sr.), Marissa Williams (Sr.).

Division 3 boys' basketball

Maple Grove's Alex Grace was named the most valuable player in Division 3 boys basketball 2011-12 season.

Curt Fischer of Maple Grove was named the coach of the year and Skyler Liddell of the Red Dragons joined Grace on the first team. Caleb Makuch of Forestville was selected the sportsmanship award winner.

First team

Alex GraceMaple GroveSr.

Skyler LiddellMaple GroveSr.

Austin AlongeWestfieldSr.

Jon CoeWestfieldJr.

Jake ReynoldsFranklinvilleSr.

Jason McMahonChau. LakeSr.

Second team

Nate StottForestvilleSr.

Colin LapEllicottvilleSr.

Jason PembridgeMaple GroveSr.

Joe FrazierMaple GroveSr.

Trey NorthWestfieldSr.

Ian CluteChau. LakeSo.

Lucas TrombleyPine ValleyJr.

Honorable mention

Chautauqua Lake: Dan Gleason (Sr.)

Westfield: Anthony Leone (Sr.)

Division 3 wrestling

Chautauqua Lake had five wrestlers make the first team of the Division 3 All-Stars.

Nick Hudson (99), Kale Gilbert (126), Nick Zentz (145), Jeremy Gilbert (152) and Andrew Pezzulo (220) were the representatives for the Thunderbirds.

Hunter Waller (160) and Mark Ecklund (113) were chosen from Panama.

Following are the complete first-, second- and honorable all-stars:

Wt. First Team, Second Team, Honorable Mention

99: Nick Hudson (Chautauqua Lake), Brad Bihler (Maple Grove), Wyatt Johnson (Panama)

106: Ryan Thierman (Portville), Devin Wesolek (Franklinville), Jon Anderson (Maple Grove)

113: Mark Eckland (Panama), Trent Howard (Chautauqua Lake), Brian Radka (Panama)

120: Nick Winter (Franklinville), Matt Bacher (Franklinville), Roger Williams (Chautauqua Lake)

126: Kale Gilbert (Chautauqua Lake), Jaycee Freeborn (Portville), David Wesolek (Franklinville)

132: Kevin Strong (Frewsburg), Brandon Winter (Franklinville), Pat DeFoe (Franklinville)

138: Jordan Smith (Portville), Howie Nolan (Maple Grove), Jed Micek (Maple Grove)

145: Nick Zentz (Chautauqua Lake), James Haick (Frewsburg), Brock Riethmiller (Franklinville)

152: Jeremy Gilbert (Chautauqua Lake), Mitchell Sandberg (Maple Grove), Mike Lembicz (Franklinville)

160: Hunter Waller (Panama), Gunner Van Curren (Portville), Randy Blake (Franklinville)

170: Nick Mitchell (Frewsburg), Tyler Furlow (Chautauqua Lake), Carl Ratzel (Franklinville)

182: Austin Lynn (Frewsburg), Tyler Veno (Portville), Derek Johnson (Maple Grove)

195: John Nickerson (Maple Grove), Jeff Schley (Franklinville), Tyce Schneider (Panama)

220: Andrew Pezzulo (Chautauqua Lake), Dean Cole (Franklinville)

285: Jared Hallberg (Maple Grove), Dillin Dash (Franklinville)



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web