Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Village voting takes place next Tuesday

March 15, 2012
By JENNA LOUGHLIN - EDITOR ( , Westfield Republican / Mayville Sentinel News

It is time to vote once again.

On Tuesday, March 20, the villages of Brocton, Mayville, Panama, Sherman and Westfield will be holding elections. On the ballot are mayor, trustee and justice positions.

In the Village of Brocton, current Mayor J. Dale Abram is not running for the position of mayor again. Instead, he is running as a Republican for one of the two available trustee positions. Republican Dale W. Vanvlack, Jr., of Portland and Democrat Michelle Harriger are running for the second trustee position. Voters will vote for two trustees, and the positions will be filled by the top two vote getters.

Article Photos

This sample ballot for the Village of Mayville is what voters will see during village elections on March 20. Polls will be open from noon to 9 p.m.

In addition, current Deputy Mayor David Hazelton is running as a Republican and unopposed for mayor. Finally, incumbent James Craig is running as a Democratic and Concord Party candidate and unopposed for Brocton Village Justice. Voting will take place in Town Hall, 87 West Main Street in Brocton, from noon to 9 p.m.

In the Village of Mayville, four candidates are vying for two trustee positions on the ballot. Incumbent Richard W. Syper is a candidate of the Republican and Protect Mayville parties while fellow incumbent James M. Roach is a candidate of the Protect Mayville party. Democratic and Citizens Choice party candidate Sharon Smead and Democratic and Republican party candidate Tye Flurie are challenging for seats on the Mayville Village Board. Voting will take place in Saint Mary's Catholic Church, 22 East Chautauqua Street in Mayville, from noon to 9 p.m.

The Village of Panama will be holding a vote, however the two incumbent candidates running are doing so unopposed. People's Party candidate Charles Loveless is running for mayor and People's Party candidate Martha A. Miller is running for trustee. Voting will take place in Panama United Methodist Church, 22 East Main Street in Panama, from noon to 9 p.m.

The situation in the Village of Sherman is similar as incumbent People's Party candidates Isaac Gratto and Mary Reyda are running unopposed for two available trustee positions. Voting will take place in the First Baptist Church on the corner of Church and Park Streets in Sherman from noon to 9 p.m.

In the Village of Westfield, three candidates are running for two available trustee positions. The incumbents are Republican and Independence Party candidates David Brooker and Rick Raynor while Democratic and Westfield Now candidate Debra Puckhaber is challenging for a seat. See the Local News section for biographies of each candidate. Voting will take place in Eason Hall, 23 Elm Street in Westfield, from noon to 9 p.m.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web