Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Chautauqua County Striders’ Runner of the Year series begins with St. Patricks’ Dash

March 14, 2012
Westfield Republican

The Chautauqua Striders 2012 Runner of the Year Series, sponsored by the WCA Center For Orthopedics, Sports Medicine and Rehabilitation, kicks off Saturday, March 10 with the St. Patrick's Dash in Jamestown. Registration information for the Dash can be found at The series is a year-long running competition to determine the top area distance runners. During the year, runners accumulate points in selected area races. In 2012, the selected races are as follows:

Saturday, March 10 - St. Patrick's Dash, 3 miles

Saturday, May 19 - Wooden Shoe 5K, 5K

Saturday, June 9 - Salvation Army Anew Run, 5K

Wednesday, July 4 - Lakewood Family YMCA Firecracker Run, 10K

Saturday, July 21 - Laurel Run, 8K

Saturday, August 11 - Dunkirk Lakefront 5K

Sunday, Sept. 2 - Dan Feather Memorial 5K

Sunday, Sept. 30 - Bemus Point 15K

Saturday, Oct. 27 - Heritage Halloween Trick or Trot, 5K

Saturday, Nov. 24 - Amy's Run, 5K

There are separate divisions for males and females who compete for overall and age-group titles. No special action needs to be taken to enter. A runner is automatically entered simply by running in the selected races.

For the overall competition, runners placing in the top 10 of any of the selected races will be awarded points as follows: 10 points for first place; nine for second; eight for third; seven for fourth; six for fifth; five for sixth; four for seventh; three for eighth; two for ninth; and one for tenth.

For the age-group competition, points will be awarded as follows: three points for a first place finish in the age-group; two for second; and one for third. Age-groups are as follows: 15 to 19; 20 to 24; 25 to 29; 30 to 34; 35 to 39; 40 to 44; 45 to 49; 50 to 54; 55 to 59; 60 to 64; 65 to 69; and 70 and over. Runners will be placed in age-group categories based upon their age on Dec. 31, 2012.

In each category, the runner with the most points at the end of the year will be crowned Runner of the Year. The Runner of the Year awards will be distributed at the Chautauqua Striders Winter Banquet in February or March 2013. Awards will be given to the overall male runner of the year, the overall female runner of the year and runners placing in the top three of their age-group category. No runner will be eligible for an age-group award unless he or she received an age-group point in at least two Runner of the Year series races. There will be no duplication of awards.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web