Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Westfield High School to hold annual dinner theatre, musical performance

November 16, 2011
Westfield Republican
WESTFIELD — Westfield High School will be presenting its annual dinner theatre Friday, Nov. 18 and Saturday, Nov. 19. The evening begins at 6 p.m., where a delicious buffet dinner will be served in a beautifully decorated school cafeteria. Following dinner, a special performance of Westfield High School’s own Mc Clurg Street String Band will take place at 7:30 p.m., in the district auditorium.

The Mc Clurg Street String Band will be presenting a program of Celtic and American style folk music that features guitarists, singers, Irish whistle players, the mandolin, celtic harp, hammered dulcimer, clogging and more. The Mc Clurg Street String band will be joined be local professional and amateur folk musicians and will feature arrangements and performances by talented young performers and arrangers.

Following intermission, the Westfield High School Westwinds will be presenting the hilarious one act musical comedy “Trial By Jury” by British lyricist and composer Gilbert and Sullivan. Originally written over 100 years ago, it is the story of Angelina as she takes her fiancé Edwin to court for breaking his promise to marry her. The Westwinds will be presenting an updated version that takes its inspiration from the finest British comedy on PBS. Featuring a cast of 37 student singers and performers, the court case is resolved with humorous and unexpected results.

Buffet dinner reservations must be made by Friday, Nov. 11 and include admission to the show.

Tickets for the show only are available pre-sale or in the lobby before the performance. Call 326-2151 for all reservations and ticket needs.

Article Photos

Submitted photo
The Mc Clurg Street String Band of Westfield High School presents a concert preview to its All-State performance at the Westfield Dinner Theatre on Nov. 18 and 19. Pictured, left to right are: Zack See; Haley Goddard; Joe Neratko; Matt Orlando; Chloe Forsell; Carly Backus; Kristin Grohol; Colton Myers; Kirsten Mason; Amanda Campbell; Lexie Momberger; Emily Parker; Kent Knappenberger; Dan Tofil; Iain Cockram; Lucy Knappenberger; and Alec Freyn.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web