Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Three local students will attend Oswego

August 9, 2011
Westfield Republican
OSWEGO, NY — Three local students have reserved a place as incoming students at SUNY Oswego.

Sara L. Fochtman of Westfield and Kevin M. Silk of Ashville will be entering as freshman while Maggie S. Mason of Route 430 in Sherman is transferring to Oswego. Fall classes will begin Aug. 29.

Fochtman is a graduate of Westfield Academy And Central. Silk is a graduate of Panama Central School. Mason last studied at Jamestown Community College.

SUNY Oswego has awarded merit scholarships to more than 600 incoming students, including Fochtman of Fifth Avenue in Westfield. Fochtman received a $17,600 Presidential Scholarship. The award recognizes past academic achievement and potential for success.

Outstanding first-year students entering Oswego are offered $17,600 Presidential Scholarships, $4,400 a year for up to four years, $5,000 Deans’ Awards, $1,250 a year for up to four years, or $2,000 Merit Awards, $500 a year for up to four years.

First-year students who have completed the strongest academic programs with the highest grade averages and standardized test scores are invited to become Presidential Scholars. Students receiving the $17,600 scholarships have average high school grade averages of 94 and average SAT scores of 1240.

The awards are part of more than $2.5 million in merit scholarship money offered at SUNY Oswego. These funds are in addition to the more than $66 million in need-based grants, loans and work-study awards that SUNY Oswego students receive annually.

Admission to SUNY Oswego is competitive. U.S. News named it among the “Top Public Regional Universities in the North” for 2011, and the Princeton Review includes Oswego in its college guidebook “The Best Northeastern Colleges.”

A 150-year-old comprehensive college in the State University of New York system, Oswego enrolls over 8,000 students in its College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; School of Business; School of Communication, Media and the Arts; and School of Education.


I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web