Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

International journalism award announced in NY

September 5, 2013
Associated Press

NEW YORK (AP) — This year's winners of the oldest international award in journalism have been announced in New York.

The Maria Moors Cabot Prize honors journalists who've covered the Western Hemisphere and furthered inter-American understanding through their reporting.

Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism announced Thursday the award has been given to The New Yorker writer Jon Lee Anderson, documentary photographer and freelance writer Donna DeCesare, Brazilian investigative reporter Mauri Konig and Colombian news magazine editor-in-chief Alejandro Rubino Santos.

The university says a Cuban blogger who became an international sensation for criticizing her country's communist system will accept the medal originally awarded to her in 2009. The Cuban government had barred Yoani Sanchez from traveling to New York then but is expected to permit her to travel for a ceremony next month.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web